How do find where the email process breaks down?

How do find where the email process breaks down?

by Jurgen Oschadleus -
Number of replies: 13

I am new to Moodle and have managed to get my test site largely set up - but I simply cannot get email functionality to work and am at wits end. I believe I've done everything outlined in the setup documentation for 2.8.1; I've checked all the email-related settings (Site admin/"incoming mail" and "server") and have searched the discussion forums for days. I can create messages which are visible to users when they access the messages site, but I simply cannot get Moodle to send out email messages.

From my understanding of the Cron log files, the process runs and connects to the email server, but it never seems to find any messages to be picked up and sent out.

In all probability it's a small setting that I've missed somewhere, but I simply don't know where to look anymore, and hope someone out there can give me some suggestions. I've attached the latest cron log file in case that helps.

Incidentally, the system runs on an Apache server.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Regards, Jurgen

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jurgen Oschadleus

Re: How do find where the email process breaks down?

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

The email settings are under Site Admin/Plugins/Messages/Email - make sure that is set up correctly..

In reply to Emma Richardson

by Jurgen Oschadleus -