MAMP, Apache couldn't be started. Please check your MAMP installation and configuration.

MAMP, Apache couldn't be started. Please check your MAMP installation and configuration.

by Tonia Malone -
Number of replies: 10

Greetings, 

Frist, I will start by saying I am not a programmer. I am currently the gui admin for Moodle 2.6 at Cal Poly, SLO so I am familiar with Moodle. 

I am working on a new theme for Cal Poly and want to install Moodle 2.7 on a laptop just for me to work on the Theme. I installed the MAMP from Moodle (Moodle27). I have successfully started apache on the Mac OS X 10.8 laptop. I was able to see the "it works" when I typed the URL - "localhost" in the browser. I also can see the PHP info when I type the URL - "localhost/phpinfo.php". BUT, when I try to "start servers" in MAMP I get this error "Apache couldn't be started. Please check your MAMP installation and configuration." 

Apache is running. I used multiple websites for information, such as;

http://machiine.com/2013/how-to-install-apache-and-php-on-a-mac-with-osx-10-8-mamp-part-1/

lynda.com -  Installing Apache, MySQL, and PHP with David Gassner

Moodle - Activity Monitor, quit the... httpd nobody

I have successfully installed Moodle 2.0 and MAMP on an older laptop 3 years ago, but today after trying for 6 hours....I am really to wait for HELP.

Thank you in advance for your helpful advice,

Tonia Malone

Cal Poly - SLO

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tonia Malone

Re: MAMP, Apache couldn't be started. Please check your MAMP installation and configuration.

by Usman Asar -
Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Testers

Tonia, its Yosemite & MAMP issue, either install latest version of MAMP i.e 3.0.7.1 or shut down your MAMP servers,

go to Applications/MAMP/bin/apache2/bin/envvars and rename the file to _envvars

alternatively,

use FINDER and and find the file named envvars, rename this file to _envvars

restart your Apache and MySQL servers, and you're done!