Migrating with limited access

Migrating with limited access

by Emad Haddad -
Number of replies: 10

Hello everyone,

I am a website developer that is very new to Moodle. I was tasked with transferring a Moodle website from one server to another to redesign. 

I read through many helpdocs but I am still stuck. I have complete access to the new server and website but only have admin access of the Moodle (not the server or database) of the old. 

What can I do to migrate the website with this limited access? 

Thank you all in advance.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Emad Haddad

Re: Migrating with limited access

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

"all" you need is a backup/dump of the database and the 'moodledata' (file upload) area. 

If your access is more restricted than that then there's nothing much you can do (apart from plead to the host). 

In reply to Emad Haddad

by Saša Stamenković -

Hello Emad,

I am afraid that you can't migrate MOODLE if you can't perform some of the following steps:

Fisrt one is to backup the database as Howard previously mentioned. 

In order to backup the database you will have to use shell, probably on port 22 If your

server is on Linux. If so, you will need to make database dumping by typing: sudo

mysqldump -u DATABASE_NAME -pPASWORD | gzip > /tmp/moodle/database.sql.gz

You need to acknowledge that, in order todump & pack the database to /tmp/moodle/

directory, the mentioned directory (moodle) need to exist on your web server. So, before

executing the first command, please create moodle directory by typing sudo mkdir

/tmp/moodle. Then type cd /tmp and then enter. Finally, just type sudo chmod 777

moodle.

Now you can dump the database by using the command described in the first paragraph.

If you like, you could send a copy of your database to your email address. The command