Comparisons and advocacy

Red-alert! This post may need to be censored...please do if necessary :)

Picture of dawn alderson
Red-alert! This post may need to be censored...please do if necessary :)

Right.

I am new to Moodle, as you all know.  My previous life included working with a couple of other LMSs, including Bb, over a long period of time.  

Now, I research a lot, as you will also know...tis my job.  I find it fascinating when I come across something....I am still working it all out...called Moodlerooms.  

Moodlerooms.....I thought it meant chat rooms using Moodle...honestly now...I kid you not.  

Then I read a bit more.....and my understanding is this:

Blackboard bought two previous Moodle partners....who remain quasi-partners with Moodle in my view...can't remember the names...as they have no relevance to me or the circles I engage with-globally.  

However, my understanding is, that when I used to use Bb....it looked and performed differently to that of what is being 'sold' now (UI, UX TO SAY THE LEAST-I avoid detail at this juncture).  

So it goes....if Moodlerooms have access to all of the Moodle Git and whatever else still-as Moodle quasi- partners....this informs Bb reign business plan-right?

Well.... I concur...from the evidence on the net...and there is plenty of it...and from others across the globe...that Moodle and its innovative impact also feeds a private enterprise that makes money off the back of others' inventive and innovative ideas and hard work...now I may sound like a clown  

Indeed, I think, quite often, I should have joined the circus....but, am I the only one seeing this?

The time is now right to present a demarcation between Moodle as an OS project and its affordances for educational development in view of the research I have stumbled across about Bb, I think, and what I have boldly outlined above.

I could be wrong....that is a rare thing by the way....surprise

Mod-on and peace!

Dawn Alderson

Average of ratings: -