Webservice API integrations

Webservice API integrations

by Wendi Daniels -
Number of replies: 19

I am a total novice in terms of api integration. How difficult is it? If I were to do it myself, what is the likelihood that I could mess it up? I don't mind diving into something I have never done so long as the road signs are clear and legible.

Please advise....

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Wendi Daniels

Re: Webservice API integrations

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

What exactly are you trying to integrate Moodle to?

It is not fundamentally difficult to enable web services in Moodle. However, it is a bit fiddly because there are a number of things to set up. This is so you can allow access to the bits you want to be accessible, without opening up the entire site for hackers. Anyway, the good news is that there is a nice page Site administration -> Plugins -> Web services -> Overview which guides you through all the things you need to do.

However, as I said, the Moodle side is just one half. What is going to be at the other end of the integration, and can you get it to talk to Moodle?

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Wendi Daniels -

I was just given all of the "stuff" by a state board so that I can integrate it into my site so that my site talks to their system. So I think I have everything on their side. I just need it to go on my side.

Thank you, I found that and I will look into it when I can, in about an hour.

by Wendi Daniels -

Hey Tim, I'm going through the steps...what do I want to declare the function to be? It is an api that will report to a state board that certain people passed the course.

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers