Upgrading from 2.6 to 2.8

Upgrading from 2.6 to 2.8

by Mike Clarke -
Number of replies: 5

I want to upgrade my course from 2.6 to 2.8. I have never done an upgrade before so I have some details of the process which I am unclear on.

Below is an outline of instructions. One the first line it says 'move your old Moodle software program files'....what are these software program files and where are they located?

screen shot

Below shows my config.php information:

$CFG->dbtype    = 'mysqli';

$CFG->dblibrary = 'native';

$CFG->dbhost    = 'localhost';

$CFG->dbname    = 'fungaled_mood609';

$CFG->dbuser    = 'fungaled_mood609';

$CFG->dbpass    = 'S3940e-.P7';

$CFG->prefix    = 'mdl_';

$CFG->dboptions = array (

'dbpersist' => 0,

'dbport' => '',

'dbsocket' => '',

);

$CFG->wwwroot   = 'http://www.fungaleducation.net/moodle';

$CFG->dataroot  = '/home/fungale0d/moodledata';

$CFG->admin     = 'admin';

From this I cannot see where my content is stored. When going into 'moodledata' I cannot see any content that I have inputted on my site.

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mike Clarke

Re: Upgrading from 2.6 to 2.8

by Emma Richardson -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Your program software is the "moodle" folder.  Just copy the whole folder to a "moodleold" folder.  Then, from within that folder, copy over any plugins/themes/etc and your config.php to the new moodle folder that you downloaded from the moodle.org site.

You do not need to copy your moodledata folder unless you are moving to a new server.  It is where all your files are stored though it is hard to find the actual files (they are hidden pretty well);

You should backup your database before the upgrade just in case.

Once you have moved the new Moodle folder into place, make sure that you change ownership and permission on the folder so that apache user can read/write to it.

In reply to Emma Richardson