Learning Analytics

Re: Learning Analytics

by Dale Davies -
Number of replies: 9

We have found that Google Analytics provides some more insightful reports when it comes to certain aspects of user activity.

I'm looking at using custom variables to help distinguish between course areas within the GA reports, like "HE" or "GCSE" etc. Also to indicate if a user is logged in or not.

We have some custom reports set up to show things like the average session time per day, distribution of course page views over the day. You can also get an interesting behaviour flow report.

In reply to Dale Davies

by Julie Harding -

Hi Dale

I have been asked to produce learner analytics in a lot more depth than the individual reports provided by Moodle. I have no programming experience at all so could you possibly point me in the direction of how I go about customising reports as you have done and where the data can be interrogated within Moodle so I can perhaps get someone here at college to perform those tasks? Any help appreciated? Thank you

In reply to Julie Harding

by Stuart Mealor -
Hi Julie

There are quite a number of additional reports you can drop in to Moodle from the plugins database:

https://moodle.org/plugins/browse.php?list=category&id=4

The Configurable Reports plugin is also totally awesome:

https://moodle.org/plugins/view/block_configurable_reports

It enables you to create reports using menus and options, and for more advanced needs you can write SQL queries, or get someone else to create them for you smile

Stuart

Average of ratings: Useful (1)

by Anatoliy Kochnev -
Picture of Plugin developers

Hello Julie,

I would like to invite you to try our product at www.intelliboard.net. This is a reporting tool that we built specifically for Moodle. You can access to over 40 different reports once connected. There is no need to have programming experience at all to navigate reports.