Disabling buttons on TinyMCE Editor

Disabling buttons on TinyMCE Editor

by Joe Stuart -
Number of replies: 2

Dear Fellow Moodlers,

I am new to Moodle Development and I am current working on a use case where I need to enable "Media Button" for courses belonging to one root category and make sure that only course administrator can see the "Media Button". I think I have partially achieved the result by editing the moodle/lib/editor/tinymce/plugins/moodlemedia/lib.php but may be this is not the right way to achieve this. Since I am new to Moodle Development I don't know the best practices, so I would appreciate if anyone could advise me on this.

//Course Category for which the Media Button should be enabled

define('PERMITTED_COURSE_CATEGORY_ID',2);

class tinymce_moodlemedia extends editor_tinymce_plugin {

/** @var array list of buttons defined by this plugin */

protected $buttons = array('moodlemedia');

protected function update_init_params(array &$params, context $context,

array $options = null) {

global $DB,$PAGE,$COURSE,$USER;

//Current Course Category

$course_category = $COURSE->category;

//List of Valid Role IDs (1 - Manager, 3 - editingTeacher)

$valid_role_ids = array(1,3);

//Get User Role

$context = get_context_instance(CONTEXT_COURSE, $COURSE->id, true);

$roles = get_user_roles($context, $USER->id, true);

$role = key($roles);

$roleid = (int)$roles[$role]->roleid;

/*

* Used this snippet but gives me the following error "Coding error detected, it must be fixed by a programmer: Legacy capabilities can not be used any more!"

$context = get_context_instance(CONTEXT_COURSE,$COURSE->id);

if (has_capability('moodle/legacy:student', $context, $USER->id, false) ) {

echo "is Student<br/>";

}

if (has_capability('moodle/legacy:teacher', $context, $USER->id, false) ) {

echo "is Assitent Teacher<br/>";

}

if (has_capability('moodle/legacy:editingteacher', $context, $USER->id, false)) {

echo "is Teacher<br/>";

}