Installing 2.6.5+ on BlueHost - Internal Server Error during install

Installing 2.6.5+ on BlueHost - Internal Server Error during install

by Matt Jordan -
Number of replies: 14
Hi all,

I am kind of new to this so I am very confused. The company I work for wants to install moodle for some corporate training. I had an old laptop so I installed Ubuntu 14.04LTS on it and got an instance of moodle up and running. So I know that I have been able to successfully follow the installation instructions before. Now that the company is hosting a dedicated server from BlueHost with CentOS 6.5 I can not seem to get moodle to install correctly. I have been google-ing and searching this forum all day but can't seem to get things worked out. Here are my steps...

• Download moodle-latest-26.zip and used filezilla to upload it to the public_html directory where I unzipped it.
  • Create a moodledata folder in the home directory of the server and set permissions to 0777.
  • Create a new database and user with all privileges using the BlueHost database manager. I verified the login in the terminal.
  • Go to mydoman.com/moodle/ and start the web based install.
  • Enter the directory paths of the file locations, select improved MySQL.
  • Enter Database info localhost, correct username and password, table prefix as mdl1_, database port and socket left blank.
  • Accept the copyright notice.
  • PHP check comes up. intl and opcache complain, but this is because I am on php 5.4 right?
  • Clicking continue brings up an internal server error "The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request."

So what am I configuring wrong that this is happening? It seems like it may be something with my .htaccess file but I don't know what is wrong.

Server Specs:
CentOS 6.5
Apache 2.2.27
MySQL 5.5.37
PHP 4.5.28
Moodle 2.6.5+
Firefox 33.0

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Matt Jordan