Coursepack restore problem

Coursepack restore problem

by Ken Russell -
Number of replies: 4

Hello Moodle people,

I'm running Moodle 2.5...

I am a Moodle admin and I am having a problem installing (actually, I am "Restoring") a "coursepack" that is offered by a book publisher for one of our high school courses. These are files that accompany a textbook that are in a mbz format so they can be used in an accompanying moodle course. The teacher had trouble restoring these files in her course and asked me to help. I tried restoring them to her course, but I was also unsuccessful. The publisher's page says that the mbz file is configured for Moodle 2.5.

I decided to try restoring these files to a new, clean course, so I created a new course, downloaded the mbz file, and tried restoring the file. As with the teacher's course, nothing happened. The browser tab displayed the word "Connecting..." and stayed that way indefinitely. There was no error message displayed on the page.

I contacted the publisher and asked them to verify that the file is a legitimate mbz file that will successfully install on moodle 2.5. They said they will look into it but did not give an ETA. In the meantime, school has started and I would like to do what I can to troubleshoot this problem.

I read the Restore documentation and FAQ. I turned on debugging messages and tried to restore the mbz file again and got the same outcome.

Where can I find the debug error reports? The FAQ does not say and no errors appear on the page when I click "Restore." I was hoping to include any error messages in this post but I cannot find where they are.

What can I do in addition to the above? Is it possible there is  a problem with Moodle's Restore process? I figure the problem must either be with the file or with Moodle. Moodles is working fine, there are no other issues that I am aware of. However, I seldom use the Restore Process.

Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

Thanks very much!