Change how fractions are displayed in STACK

Change how fractions are displayed in STACK

by eduardo rivero -
Number of replies: 2

First of all, I would like to thank all your work in this resource. I am a secondary Maths teacher in Zaragoza (Spain) and I have never found anything such powerfull as STACK.

Actually, I have started working with STACK in order to use it as a basic tool in my courses. I have already prepared about 50 questions and learned while doing it. In this moment I am trying to write some kind of algorithm to generate random basic expressions, and I am stuck with this issue:

-If I have this expression in STACK:  a:15/3

-It is showed like this:  15
                                   --------

More or less in LaTeX: \frac{15}{3}

- I need it to be showed like this:  15 : 3

Something like this in LaTeX: 15 \div 3

My students are so young that most of them ignore how to work properly with fractions, and this is why I need this.

As my intention is to create truly random questions, I dont want to divide the expression in two and put a ":" character between them.

I have tried to define a new operator with the infix order, but it is no allowed in stack....

Is there any solution to this?

Best Regards
Average of ratings: -
In reply to eduardo rivero

Re: Change how fractions are displayed in STACK

by Christopher Sangwin -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Eduardo,

Thank you for your kind comments about STACK. I hope you and your students find this a useful tool as part of their teaching.

I agree that we should try to solve as many mathematical problems as possible at the CAS level.  While it would be easy to write \(@n@:@m@\) in the question, this isn't really very elegant.