MyFiles + BlogAPI

MyFiles + BlogAPI

by Rob Wohleb -
Number of replies: 3
Here is an interesting idea I got from the Drupal CMS. The Drupal BlogAPI module allows one to "post" not just to their Drupal blog, but also to other content formats. Imagine being able to "post" a document while on the road using something like Ecto.

http://drupal.org/handbook/modules/blogapi

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Rob Wohleb

Re: MyFiles + BlogAPI

by Criss Ittermann -
I've been dreaming about this all night!

I'm a peripheral developer who has done work on PmWiki, and I love how Ecto handles PmWiki's BloggerAPI. I've been creating a class in Moodle running on a slow old server, and while it's running like a workhorse, the horse is heading to pasture.

I have great ideas on how to implement the BloggerAPI end of it, although I haven't programmed for BloggerAPI before. It's not any more difficult than the work I did for PmWiki to support Podcasts and RSS properly. I had also gotten in touch with the Ecto developer and asked him to have the BloggerAPI for non-Blogger sites support more than just 20 posts...which he did very quickly!

If we stick to one API, such as the BloggerAPI, it would work in other programs as well.

Are you a programmer? I could use some help.

Thanks!

Criss
Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Rob Wohleb

by Criss Ittermann -
I have a feeling people don't know what this thread is talking about, so I want to explain the xmlrpc/BloggerAPI/Ecto connection.

What if you, as a course instructor, could see a quick overview of content in your course and could edit simple content without having to wait for screens to load?

Ecto (and other Blogger clients) can read a group of pages and display the content in a heirarchical format. Here's what I'm picturing:

MySchool
Course1 M1.IntroductionToMyCourse category:text
M1.DiscussTheCourse category:forum