Broken 'Plugins Check' page

Broken 'Plugins Check' page

av Sim Rowsell -
Antal svar: 8

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to Moodle and this forum so I'm hoping you can help me!

I've been running Moodle 2.7 fine for a few weeks now on a test server (a copy of our live one). Using the Essential theme we've done lots of modifying of page design and layout, moving around blocks and changing pictures etc to make it look how we want. It's all been going well and there haven't really been any problems. Until now...

Problem

A couple of days ago I tried installing a little plugin (this one - https://moodle.org/plugins/view.php?plugin=block_course_menu). Ever since then my 'Plugins Check' page seems to be broken (see attached image) which has the url moodle/admin/index.php . Every time I try to go to Site Administration -> Notifications or install/update another plugin I'm directed to this page which is clearly completely broken. The contents jump around a bit when you hover over it and I'm given an error message that says [MAIN CONTENT GOES HERE - mLXSoMIxZH]. The letters in that error change now and again. Initially when I tried accessing moodle/index.php as admin I would be redirected to this page too but I've just commented out the redirect from line 63 of moodle/index.php to get around that for now. Obviously this problem means I can't install or upgrade any plugins.

Solutions attempted

1. I've uninstalled the plugin including removing it's folder from the blocks directory on the server. Moodle isn't picking it up in Plugins Overview anymore. Alas, no luck.
  2. I've tried replacing the possibly corrupt moodle/admin/index.php with a fresh copy of the file from the original Moodle 2.7 download files but it didn't make any difference. Could this prove that it isn't necessarily the file but something the file is generating or accessing that is broken? Is there a Plugins Check file elsewhere that could be corrupt?