If you use self-enrollment (Site administration->Plugins->Enrollments) for this course, you can set the enrollment duration to two weeks with an email notification before the enrollment expires. So whenever the user starts, the enrollment period starts as well. You can set the action when the enrollment expires to "keep user enrolled." If you unenrol the user, you will lose all data in the database.
With kind regards,