Newbie to authentication POP3

Newbie to authentication POP3

by Frankie Kam -
Number of replies: 3
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi 

I am new to this authentication thingy. My organisation uses a POP3 E-mail service, with the domain name cambridgeforlife.org

What I want to achieve is to allow a user to create a user account on my Moodle site using his or her cambridgeforlife.org email address as the username, e.g., frankie@cambridgeforlife.org, and his or her actual cambridgeforlife.org password. In this way, I can almost guarantee that the users of my Moodle site are actual company staff of Cambridge English For Life.

How do I do this?

I've already activated the built-in Authentication plugin, POP3. I've put in the IP value of my mail.cambridgeforlife.org in-coming mail server. Beyond this I don't know how to proceed.

Anyone can advise me what to do to achieve what I want?

Regards
Frankie Kam

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Frankie Kam

Re: Newbie to authentication POP3

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Some research for ya ...

is mail.x.x a mail gateway or is it the real EMail server for that domain?   Many networks today have mail gateways which check for virus/spam before communicating with the true mail server which is internal to a private network (and not directly accessible).   That internal mail server might have the same name in the internal DNS but goes to a private IP server - ie, the true mail server.

The actual authentication/users might be on that internal machine.

Inspect the headers of a message you've in your inbox to see what mail servers the mail actually ran through to reach your inbox.  And do that with a message known to come from an internal user while that user was on the domain network.  And do that with a message known to come from a domain user when outside the private network.  Think you might find other mail servers.