I have proposed a new feature in the tracker, which would warn you when you are about to delete an assignment which has some student submissions. Currently it's just a generic "Are you sure?" dialogue box. A more visible warning could prevent some mishaps.
I've extended the request for the developers, this is something I've seen happen all too often, luckily sometimes we've managed to restore from backup to a point!