Teaching with Moodle

Ideas for moodle activities for ESL (English as a Second Languege) class

Picture of Ildiko Barthos
Ideas for moodle activities for ESL (English as a Second Languege) class

Hi everyone,

I am totally new to Moodle. I've just created my first ever experimental Moodle course just to explore how the different resources, activities, and blocks work.

If you are an ESL teacher for adult students, what activities do you like to include in your courses? I have experimented with "glossary", "database", "forum", "wiki" and "chat". How do you use these activities in your courses?  

Thank for sharing your ideas.

Average of ratings: -
Matt Bury
Re: Ideas for moodle activities for ESL (English as a Second Languege) class
Group Particularly helpful Moodlers

Hi Ildiko,

Jeff Stanford collated some examples of Moodle activities that are aimed at second language teaching for Moodle 1.9: http://blog.matbury.com/2010/07/25/book-review-moodle-1-9-for-second-language-teaching/ The principles will be very similar for Moodle 2.

You may also want to look for Moodle courses that other teachers and curriculum developers have shared on the main Moodle hub: http://moodle.net/

In my opinion, the tools and technology are the easy part. The hard part is cultivating a productive, engaging climate/atmosphere, and coming up with SLA activities that are effective in online environments. I recommend trying to get to grips with Moodle's pedagogical foundation as much as possible: http://docs.moodle.org/26/en/Pedagogy (If you're not already familiar with social constructivist oriented pedagogies/andragogies).

Garrison, Anderson, et al's Communities of Inquiry model is well worth a look too: http://coi.athabascau.ca/

I hope this helps! smile

Average of ratings:Useful (1)

Thank you Matt. Jeff Standford's book looks like a really good resource, and a visit to http://moodle.net/ is a great avenue too.