Creating a new question type

Creating a new question type

napisao/la Krunoslav Smrekar -
Broj odgovora: 14

Hello,

I'm new with developing for Moodle. I have a project to create a new question type for SQL queries.

I've used the template provided in this link: https://github.com/jamiepratt/moodle-qtype_TEMPLATE/ and started working from there. I haven't made a lot, just in the edit_myqtype_form to make it look how I want. Now I know that in the questiontype.php file I have to define how to save the forms in save_question_options($question) but I don't know how to even start.

I've looked in other question types to get me started but haven't had luck because I don't understand most of the functions. Can you provide me with a link where it is explained how all this works and how to proceed from here. I have a couple of textboxes and an image to be saved. I'm using Moodle 2.6 version

I hope that I've put this question in the right place.

Thank you in advance. osmijeh

Odgovor na Krunoslav Smrekar

Re: Creating a new question type

napisao/la Marcus Green -
Slika Core developers Slika Particularly helpful Moodlers Slika Plugin developers Slika Testers

You have come to the right place but your question is rather general. Why not put your code so far (however minimal), on Github and then ask a question about how to do a single specific thing. 

When I built a question type I got most of my knowledge through reading source and running other types of question to see what they did in terms of writing to the database. That may not of course be the most optimal way of learning to code a thing......

Odgovor na Marcus Green

Thanks for replying. osmijeh

That is pretty much how I'm trying to make something. But it's going very slowly. Here's my repository. https://github.com/KruxZhlajfa/sqlupiti

I'm stuck now at questiontype.php in the save_question_options function. I'm trying for now to save the "sqlanswer" field from edit_sqlupiti_form but it's giving me an error.