Role needs all courses in a category

Role needs all courses in a category

by Bobby Deetz -
Number of replies: 7

Hello,

I'm a total newbie to Moodle. I have created a custom role based upon Manager in Moodle 2.6 so that I can tweak the permissions. This new role is assigned in the context of 1 category. I see that this works in that the role can access those sites - but only if someone sends a direct link. I need the courses that person is responsible for managing to be listed somewhere. I do not want them enrolled in the courses cause they are not participating. I have the courses block turned off as we do not want people to see all courses in our site. I am only using the vanilla blocks since I'm new and do not have help with administration. I have navigation turned on for my front page after login which shows people only the courses they are enrolled in. I thought I found the ability to allow for this manager role to add the courses block, but it didn't seem to do anything. I tried to search the forums but can't find another instance of this question. I'm sure someone has wanted this before so there must be a way. Thanks so much for any ideas. 

- Bobby

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Bobby Deetz

Re: Role needs all courses in a category

by Bobby Deetz -

I do see that I can allow the courses block to be added on the "My Home" page which gives me the search and the "request course" feature which I wanted. But I only want the courses inside a particular category to display for this manager, not all courses. So it still doesn't totally meet my needs. Ideas?

In reply to Bobby Deetz

by Perry Way -

That can be accomplished by making someone a site-wide Manager role. Not sure how to make your role a site-wide-capable role. Check out the menu path:

In reply to Perry Way

by Bobby Deetz -

Thanks Perry,