Installing Moodle 2.6.2+ on GoDaddy

Installing Moodle 2.6.2+ on GoDaddy

by Tony Alonzo -
Number of replies: 7

I am a total noob at Moodle, and was hoping to get it up and running.

I acquired a new domain name last night, and added it to my current Linux hosting service.

Their application version is 1.9, and I want to run a more current version, so I am trying the manual install with version 2.6.2+.

I had to update my PHP to v.5.3 in order for my Moodle Install to even initiate.

I have been able to upload all of the Moodle files via ftp transfer, and can run the install from my site.

Here is where I am stuck.

After I select "Improved MySQL" it takes me to Database Settings.

I left the Database Host as default "localhost"

I left the Database Name as default "moodle"

I dont know what my Database User or Database Password is suppose to be. I am assuming this is associated with my hosting account? I dont think it asked me to set this up yet as part of the install, so maybe some clarification on how to do this, or where to do this would be helpful as part of the solution.

I got this error "Database Connection Failed", and then it gives me this warning:

Warning: mysqli::mysqli() [mysqli.mysqli]: (HY000/2002): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/content/h/a/b/habaner0/html/Reconnect/lib/dml/mysqli_native_moodle_database.php on line 76

Any assistance would be appreciated. I am not a programmer or anything.  I was just hoping to get through the install process successfully so I could begin developing and adding content to my LMS.

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Tony Alonzo

Re: Installing Moodle 2.6.2+ on GoDaddy

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers