STACK question 2+2=?

STACK question 2+2=?

by Peter Halverson -
Number of replies: 5

Hello,

I am a physics teacher attempting to use STACK to make my students analyze lab data.

As a baby step towards that goal,  I decided to make a question that asks the student 2+2=?

I used "Answer test=NumRelative" and the tolerance set to 0.

And, yes it works.  BUT, if the student gets cheeky, he can answer "3+1" or "sqrt(16)" and it will be "correct."  I don't want that.  I want the answer to be just 4.

So....  I'm guessing that the problem lies with "simplification."  I want to turn that off.  After all, look at this maxima dialog:

(%i15) is (2+2=sqrt(16));
(%o15)                               true
(%i16) simp:false;
(%o16)                               false
(%i17) is (2+2=sqrt(16));
(%o17)                               false

So in the STACK question form I turned "Auto-simplify" to "No" at the top of prt1.  And I also did that for "Question-level simplify".

But that didn't fix the problem.  How can I really turn off simplification?  Or am I missing something else?

Thank you,

Peter Halverson

PS:  I am using Moodle 2.4.9 and I installed qtype_stack_moodle26_2014011500.zip.  Maxima 5.23.2

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter Halverson

Re: STACK question 2+2=?

by Kees Koopman -

Hi,

That question is my question too.

An other question.

I declare two variables: "l" and "b". "l" is the lenght of a square, "b" is the width of a square. The outline is l+l+b+b.

Or 2*l+2*b or 2*(l+b).

I ask the student two questions: Write down a formula and Write down the correct answer.

How do i test if the student use a correct formula?

How do ik give points for a specific formula?

Kees

In reply to Peter Halverson

by Christopher Sangwin -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Plugin developers

Thanks for posting these questions as they are central to the design of STACK!