External tool (LTI)

Add LTI Tool to Activity Chooser

Picture of Dominic Hanzely
Add LTI Tool to Activity Chooser

Greetings,

I am still very new to Moodle, so please bare with me if I am going down the wrong path here.

The goal is to make it possible to configure an External Tool Type to be displayed in a course's Activity Chooser (attached screen shots below).

Once selected from the Activity Chooser, the user would then land on the external tool's edit instance settings page (/course/modedit.php?update=87) as if they had first selecting the standard "External Tool" option from the Activity Chooser, selected the tool from the external tool type select box, clicked "save and return back to course", then navigated to the tool's instance settings page.

The approach that I'm inclined to take is to:

- add a showinchooser field to the lti_type table
- modify /mod/lti/edit_form.php to add a checkbox for showinchooser
- add a function lti_get_types_for_chooser_add_instance() in /mod/lti/locallib.php based on lti_get_types_for_add_instance() to return results that have showinchooser = 1
- override core_course_renderer::course_modchooser() to add a call to lti_get_types_for_chooser_add_instance()

The advantage to this approach is that the changes to core are minimal (all within /mod/lti). The disadvantage is that it requires modification to any other theme in which it is desired to display available external tools.

Ideally, it would be nice to have these tools be seen as the rest of the modules listed within the Activity Chooser, I'm just not seeing a way to accomplish that cleanly.

Thoughts and/or suggestions?

Thanks!

Dominic

My home -> Site administration -> Plugins -> Activity modules -> Manage activities -> LTI Administration

My home -> test_course

Average of ratings: -
Re: Add LTI Tool to Activity Chooser

And, uh, please bear with my request to bare with me...  awkward! blush

Picture of John Tutchings