Feedback for new opportunity - Mark as all read

Feedback for new opportunity - Mark as all read

by Koulla Antoniou -
Number of replies: 0

I’m a student at a university of technology on Cyprus and I use the moodle just like other students. From the use of this moodle I have discovered some new ways to improve new functions.

The function that interests me is part of the function of messages. At my university we use the function of messages to communicate between as about a subject, so that we are continuously updated for any course.

The moodle platform gives as the opportunity to connect with any account for example: Gmail account, Hotmail etc… so that incoming messages are sent there .To make it clear, if someone sends me a message and I’m not connected to moodle account I can receive it through my email.

So now I want to propose a modification for the domain of messages, about the function which use a popup window to inform the user for new messages.

Existing Function

When a user has new messages a popup window pops up.

The popup window has two options:

1) Go to messages

When the user presses on the link a new window appears, so from then on he can read his messages. (If he has messages from more than one user, then he must to choose the messages that he will read)

2) Ignore

When the user presses on the ignore link the popup window disappears. But when the user logs in again the popup appears, regardless if he had read his messages from his other account.

Suggestion

What I suggest is to create a third option which is “Mark as all read”.

So I have come to this option after I have researched it with quizzes in my university. The results that I have found are very positive and the student think it will be very useful.

Like we have seen different organizations like google, outlook, etc. they have already added something similar.

What does the function do?