You are currently not assigned to a manager

You are currently not assigned to a manager

by piersante sestini -
Number of replies: 6
I am a newbie of this module, and very confused.
I did set the sessions and the roles (teacher and students, I couldn't find a manager role to assign), but if someone tries to enroll (even myself), get the message " You are currently not assigned to a manager in the system. Please contact the site administrator. !
Of course I am the administrator, but I couldn't find the answer in the documentation.

The FAQ says "Starting with the Moodle 1.9 version of the Face-to-face module, a custom field called "Manager's email" is added to the user profile page". But I don't see it in the user profile (I mean the one under site administration). Furthermore, adding the address to each student manually seems very cumbersome!

So I guess there should be another way: is there a step-by-step guide?

The only place to insert an email seems to be in the module settings "sender address", (as the sender should be the manger, I guess), but it doesn't work. There is a section "Manager emails" on the same page, but I couldn't understand those settings, particularly "Ask users for their manager's email address." confused me. Should the student set their own manager's address?

Could I be driven to some documentation that explain these issues, maybe starting from what a manager is and why should be different from the teacher?

Thanks in advance for your patience

Piersante

Average of ratings: -
In reply to piersante sestini

Re: You are currently not assigned to a manager

by Peter Swandale -

Hi Piersante

Once you setup Face2face every user will need to go into their individual user profile and enter an email address of their manager or a person who will approve their enrolment.  This is a must.