Need help restoring a Moodle 1.9 backup please

Need help restoring a Moodle 1.9 backup please

by Gwen Barnes -
Number of replies: 10

I'm a moodle newbie, and I've been given a backup of a moodle 1.9 site by a client who wants the course data upgraded to the current 2.x version so it can be exported as MBZ files for use in another application.

The client has already indicated that they will not upgrade their live site from 1.9 to 2.x as the migration to a newer version does not migrate all the data they require for other uses of the site.

So far, I've installed xampp with moodle 2.6. on a Windows 7 computer. I've also successfully created new instances of moodle versions 1.9.19+ and 2.2 11 which is the planned intermediate step in the upgrade. I downloaded these packages yesterday from http://download.moodle.org/.

Each of these installations has created a new moodle site independent of the others in separate directories and databases, and I can get to each one and log in as administrator.

The backup I've been given consists of the following items:

• SchoolName.zip
  • SchoolNameNew.zip
  • SchoolNameNew2.zip
  • vle_schoolname_edu.sql
  • course-data.tar

where "SchoolName" is the name of the school.

The three zip files seem to contain theme information (stylesheets, icons, etc.) but no actual site content.

The course-data.tar file appears to contain the course files I'm looking for (almost 40 gigabytes of it in dozens of folders and subfolders under a top level folder called course_data). Some appear to contain SCORM files (ZIPs with imsmanifest.xml at the root level plus lots of files), others are just folders with collections of files.

I've tried uploading the 300MB .sql file as it appears to contain the structure of the site -- courses, forums, etc.) but the uploader rejects it as it's over 2mb.