Trouble setting up email in 2.6 on Hostmonster

Trouble setting up email in 2.6 on Hostmonster

by Michael Usavage -
Number of replies: 23

Hello,

I've been having a very tough time getting my 2.6 (Version 2013111801.11) install of Moodle to be able to send out emails. The install is currently hosted at Hostmonster and was installed through the Mojo Marketplace. I know this isn't a preferred set up, but I needed something easy because this is my first time using Moodle, and I'm a beginner-intermediate Linux admin.

Anyway, everything is working well except for sending emails out of the system. On the Site administration > Plugins > Message outputs > Email page, I've tried a number of configurations that include: using a verified, working hostmonster based email account, using the phpmailer built into Moodle, and Gmail SMTP. I've recreated the settings I tried for the hostmonster and phpmailer attempts:

Hostmonster email:

SMTP hosts: host413.hostmonster.com:465

SMTP security: SSL

SMTP username: mailer@domainx.com

SMTP password: *********

SMTP session limit: 1

No-reply address: mailer@domainx.com

Character set: UTF-8

Allow user to select character set: No 

Allow attachments: Yes

Newline characters in mail: LF

PHP Mailer:

SMTP hosts: 

SMTP security: 

SMTP username: 

SMTP password:

SMTP session limit: 1

No-reply address: mailer@domainx.com

Character set: UTF-8

Allow user to select character set: No 

Allow attachments: Yes

Newline characters in mail: LF