moodle 1.9.12 gone rogue

moodle 1.9.12 gone rogue

by Jason Metz -
Number of replies: 5

I have been tasked with getting an old moodle system that is no longer working properly....to work properly. The current setup is an install of moodle 1.9.12+ with two courses each containing 3 quizzes. The admin user has no ability to administer roles, getting "Sorry, but you do not currently have permissions to do that (Assign roles to users)" and is not able to export course materials. Here is a screenshot of admin menu with editing turned on:

Admin user has no access to course admin and cannot update enrollment key. New user accounts can not be created, as the email to confirm their registration is never sent. The enrollment key for previous course offering does not work. In short, I have a database that is possibly corrupted, an insecure and outdated code base, and I am not a Moodle expert.

I have tried updating the code base to 1.9.19+ with a copy of the database, and though the upgrade completed without error, the admin user can no longer log in getting "invalid login" and if I try to reset password via forgot password get "Incorrect sesskey submitted, form not accepted!". I have tried to manually reset admin password using md5 generator and phpMyAdmin, but still "invalid login"....

Any suggestions on how to proceed? How difficult would it be to manually reconstruct the courses from the database into a moodle 2.6 clean install?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jason Metz

Re: moodle 1.9.12 gone rogue

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Could try this:

Gonna require some backend mysql trickery am afraid.
Have to use some tool where one can view/edit the DB - phpmyadmin/webmin's MySQL tool, or other (see you have said you have phpmyadmin)

First, do a query like:

select * from mdl_user where id like "2"

The 1st user created is the guest account.   The 2nd user created was the initial admin account - if they didn't change things.