Is a Metacourse the answer?

Is a Metacourse the answer?

by Michal Denny -
Number of replies: 5

HI everyone,

I'm a relative newbie to Moodle but learning lots quickly. I have a problem and haven't been able to find a clear answer. 

We are running Moodle 2.6 in a secondary school. I would like to have the following scenario:

1. A Year 9 Science course containing all the content needed by the students.

2. 10 Year 9 Science courses that contain all the course content but also allows each teacher to add material specific to them. I also see this as an easy way to restrict forum participation to just the students in the class.

I thought the answer to this would be to use a Metacourse structure, which I've set up. But the course content in the parent course doesn't show in the child (teacher) course.

Have I missed something in my set up or do Metacourses not work this way?

Michal

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Michal Denny

Re: Is a Metacourse the answer?

by Jez H -

MetaCourses allow you to inherit enrollments between courses they do import content from one course to another so this is incorrect:

"the course content in the parent course doesn't show in the child (teacher) course"

What would actually happen is that the student would have access to two separate courses through a single enrollment.

If you need to import content you can use the import feature within a course and grab sections from other courses, of course that wont keep the content in sync, if it changes in course 1 it wont update in course 2.

From what you say I think you should read up on groups, so with in one course you could create multiple groups and restrict access to forums, course sections and other resources based on their group.

Hope that helps smile

In reply to Jez H

by Michal Denny -

Hi Jez,

Thanks for your reply. it has given me a lot to think about.