I´m a teacher not a programmer

I´m a teacher not a programmer

by Christopher Britt -
Number of replies: 46

Moodle 2.6 I´m trying to install it

Hosting I own a domain and want to use it

2.6 won´t install fully

Ports 80 causing problems

Really could do with an idiots guide, can anyone help; oh I have until the 6th of Jan to get it up and running. 

Merry Christmas and a Feliz año nuevo

Chris

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Christopher Britt

Re: I´m a teacher not a programmer

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

I'm a teacher not a programmer either, but I have on occasions managed to install Moodle so let's take a step back and see how far you got. You have a domain name and web space, yes? How have you tried to install Moodle so far  - which instructions have you followed?

Average of ratings: Useful (1)

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

You don't need to be a programmer but you do need to have some admin skills for your chosen platform (or be prepared to learn).

We do need some basic details though. What operating system or hosting are you using? How are you trying to install Moodle? *Exactly* what error messages are you getting (copy and paste please)? Do you already have something else running that might be grabbing port 80?

In reply to Howard Miller

by Christopher Britt -

Thanks guys,

I´ve just woken upfrom my siesta so I have a bit of energy, wife and kids are going out so I have a bit of peace and quiet until son turns up later.

System Windows 7 64 bit

Version that I´ve tried to install is Moodle Windows installer - latest-26

On my PC I have SKYPE which could be the culprit for port 80 problem so I´ve read?

TTFN

by Howard Miller -