Moodle organisational/ architecture puzzle...

Moodle organisational/ architecture puzzle...

by Cyrus Tchar -
Number of replies: 9

Hi all, 

I have a bit of a problem to solve but cannot find a solution.. I am really a Moodle novice and wanted to know if anyone had already experienced this or could think of a way to resolve this puzzle.

We have an LMS for a business with many different outlets.

The courses are the same for all employees, but the problem comes that we want each outlet to have a seperate entity with all its employees and a manager with the rights of non editing teacher (being able to view the progress of their team, learning records etc.., add activities for their team, add new students, enrol them on courses, disenrol them etc..).

Above this, there are area managers, these people can view the learning reports of multiple outlets (by outlet summary or broken down by user, but not all of them. (they also have same rights as the site managers but overlooking many outlets.)

Then we have operations managers,  training managers who can view all of the areas, all the outlets and all the staff. They can view the learning reports broken down by area, by outlet or by student. They also have similar rights as the outlet managers.

Finally we have a HR who has all the rights as the above but can on top of this add courses etc...

All the rights etc.. are rather easy, but it is the concept of this hierarchy which I find very difficult to implement: Using Groups? Do Subgroups exist? Can courses be only for a group? Cohorts? Can groups be included into cohorts without having to put them manually one by one? 

Could anyone help me?

Thanks a million in advance!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Cyrus Tchar

Re: Moodle organisational/ architecture puzzle...

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers