Tiered Dictionary Module ?

Tiered Dictionary Module ?

by Jamie Glase -
Number of replies: 29

I think a good module would be a Glossary/Dictionary. There could be a site glossary to go over terms that are inclusive of the entire site/school, and each teacher could create a glossary (like creating a forum or chat room) for their specific class.

In this way the teacher can upload or input several terms that are pertinent to the course material to assist students. It seems to be that an additional table would have to be added to be able to link it with the course table. Unfortunately I am not a coder yet, but I have plenty of ideas! ;)

Anyone else interested in this type of module?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Jamie Glase

Re: Tiered Dictionary Module ?

by Williams Castillo -

If no one minds, I want to give it a try.

Will

In reply to Williams Castillo

by Jamie Glase -

Give it a few whacks. ;)

It's beyond my scripting capabilites right now so anything you do would be an improvement on what I could achieve!

Later on in the thread someone mentions plugins for moodle at a different point than resources or such. I don't understand what all that means but I think it means the dictionary will be more functional

I don't think students should be able to alter or add dictionary entries (or if they do, they should be moderated by the teacher before appearing live in the class dictionary)

Just my two cents

In reply to Jamie Glase

by Williams Castillo -

Well... I'm a bit excited about this module because this is my first try to create a module for Moodle.

Although my module could not be the final one, I would like to receive comments and suggestions on what I did... how could it be done, how should it be done.. Anything to improve my knowledge on Moodle would be nice... and highly appreciated.

This is just a beginning: It allows you to create glossaries and add entries to them. You can specify if the student can or cannot add entries to the glossary.