Moodle 1.9, attendance backup problem

Moodle 1.9, attendance backup problem

by Bernard J -
Number of replies: 5
In my institution we are using moodle 1.9. With one course there is a problem when making backup. When I check attendance box, the backup doesn't create itself, but when I start backup without attendance check box, backup creates itself. And this problems happens only on one particular course. Considering that I am new in moodle, I kindly ask for suggestions where should I look for the problem?
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Bernard J

Re: Moodle 1.9, attendance backup problem

by Dan Marsden -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers Picture of Plugins guardians Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi there and welcome to Moodle. First thing to be aware of is that Moodle 1.9 is really old - your institution should be planning an upgrade to Moodle 2 before the end of this year - support for general bug fixes in Moodle 1.9 finished in June 2011 and Security updates will no longer be occurring for the 1.9 branch after Dec this year.

Next - The attendance plugin is a 3rd party contributed plugin - it doesn't come with the Moodle core download and is supported/developed by someone else. That person has since moved on and now no support for the 1.9 version of the attendance plugin is available.

You could try to find if there is a more up-to-date version of the attendance plugin to install on your site but it would be better for you to focus your energy on encouraging your institution to upgrade to a newer Moodle release.

There is a new version of the attendance module available for Moodle 2.3 and higher which is supported but this version doesn't work with older Moodle releases.

hope that helps!

In reply to Dan Marsden

by Bernard J -

Thank you Dan for your reply.