One course, multiple groups of students using it?

One course, multiple groups of students using it?

by Ivan Roulson -
Number of replies: 4

I'm not too sure how to frame the question in "Moodle terms" as I'm a teacher not an admin, but I wonder if someone could help here. I'm also pretty sure it's a common issue, so I'd be interested to see if anyone has any ideas about how best to solve this one...

Two issues.

I have a number of Moodle courses that I'm happy with. However, in lower school teaching we have groups of students who stay for one term, do the work and then head off to another teacher with another course. I'd like to have all the (say Year 7) students that I teach enrolled at the start of the year. I'd like them to be able to submit work through Moodle. At the end of each term I'd like to move on to the next group, while still having the previous group available for assessment and archive purposes. I'm not sure how to do this effectively, or how admin can support us in this. We apparently have access to ZiLink but I'm not sure if this is working for us.

Second - similar but maybe subtly different for those who know these things?

I will be teaching 5 groups from my Moodle course concurrently for the whole year. They are called 8b, 8c, 8d, 8e, 8f, 8g. Another teacher will teach 8a, and we will collaborate on constructing the course through the year. I'd like each student to be able to submit work but when I search for that group's work I don't want to search the whole year group. Obviously the other teacher will want to see her course without wading through my lot. Is this possible? For me the most obvious way would be to create the course six times and only have members for each group in each course - an 8a course, 8b course etc. As the course isn't finalised yet, this means that we can't really just copy the courses. Any solutions for this one?