We've recently upgraded from 1.9 via 2.2 to 2.5. In preparation for the new Academic Year I have suspended our leavers' accounts. Next I updated the leavers' enrollment to their courses to end 2nd September 12.00 AM. I was hoping that this would remove them from the courses at the set date. The result is somewhat confusing though.
1. In Course Administration > Users > Enrolled users the leavers are still visible along with the new users, the number count reflects this. The column 'Enrolment methods' shows the correct finishing date. When I click the edit icon the status is shown as 'Acive'.
2. Under Navigation > Current course > Participants only the new users are shown, the number count is correct.
3. The leavers' profiles show that they are no longer enrolled in their courses (the course names don't appear under 'Course profiles'), their account status is shown as suspended.
What I don't seem to grasp at the moment is the difference between course participants and enrolled users shown under course administration. Could anyone enlighten me or point me towards a bit of the documentation that i have missed? Could this have something to do with the fact that to suspend the leavers I simply updated the database directly. Did that perhaps not result in a correct suspension across the site?
Thanks in advance.