file problem after upgrade - update with debugging

file problem after upgrade - update with debugging

by Richard Kingsley -
Number of replies: 21

I use a shared hosting service.  After upgrading, none of my private files were available but I can do the following:

All my private files are available as server files  (I have never used this option before).

I can access all other repository files including those I set up in my moodle data file.

All files added via a forum are also available.

On trying to access my private files, I get the following error message:

Debug info: [dataroot]/filedir/4e/89/4e89d6915f1c57f2e243b889f7da8cdc13741d83 Error code: storedfilecannotread
Stack trace:
  • line 175 of /lib/filestorage/stored_file.php: file_exception thrown
  • line 846 of /lib/filestorage/stored_file.php: call to stored_file->update()
  • line 399 of /lib/filelib.php: call to stored_file->set_source()
  • line 260 of /lib/filelib.php: call to file_prepare_draft_area()
  • line 65 of /user/files.php: call to file_prepare_standard_filemanager()

I have no idea what this stuff means so hopefully, there is someone out there that does.

Thanks

Richard

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Richard Kingsley

Re: file problem after upgrade - update with debugging

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Using some other tool to browse files, to go the moodledata directory.
filedir then 4e then 89

See if there is a file with a long hash name:
4e89d6915f1c57f2e243b889f7da8cdc13741d83

storedfilecannotread might indicate a permissions problem or other.
Looks like it's trying to update information on it.

When was the last time your site ran cron?

Run cron … maybe several times.

Shared hosting services sometimes do nasty things … what's the max on file space?  What's the max on how much time a script can run?  What's the max on how much memory a script can use?
The above can be seen (or should be see) in the phpinfo link from the Site Admin menu.