Unable to Perform Backups in Moodle 2.5

Unable to Perform Backups in Moodle 2.5

by Douglas Ullman -
Number of replies: 8

Hello all,

I'm very new to Moodle Administration, and am having a bit of difficulty troubleshooting a problem I'm having. Whenever I attempt to perform a backup of a course after upgrading to 2.5, I get a Server500 error. I've turned on debugging, but it does not throw any errors.

I have checked my plugins and they appear to be up to date. I've checked the timeout settings in the PHP.ini file.

I ultimately am trying to import from one course to another, but when that failed, I attempted to just backup, with no resolution. I'm not sure what my next steps would be. Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Douglas Ullman

Re: Unable to Perform Backups in Moodle 2.5

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Error 500's are kinda a general catch all and not very descriptive of the problem.  And you've not given anyone much to go on ... server local, remotely hosted and shared (provider), locally hosted in a virtual environment, or locally hosted as a stand alone ... operating system, etc..

But ... check permissions on the moodledata/temp folder.  It is there that Moodle must be able to access a folder called 'backup'.  The web server user must be able to create folders/files in that directory.

Check for existence of that folder and it's contents.  Anything?

Could temp files be created in the operating system temp folder?

Since it's an upgrade ... upgrade from what?

'spirit of sharing', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by Douglas Ullman -

Ken, 

Thank you for the reply. I've seen scouring through the forums on here for different fixes, you have a lot of experience and insight. 

To your questions. I inherited the environment, so I'm still finding my way around. This is my first job in the Educational environment, and my first run in with Moodle. If I'm leaving anything lacking, please let me know.