student's picture on the screen during quiz

student's picture on the screen during quiz

by Adrian Dusa -
Number of replies: 15
Hi all,

I have about 300 students to test. Even for those who attend classes regularly it is hard to remember who is who, and I really cannot say anything about those who attend rarely or not at all.
In order to make sure that the person filling in the quiz is exactly the student that is supposed to be (the exams are held at the info lab inside our faculty), it would be really helpful to have the student's picture on the screen at all times, to compare it with the student's face.
I can scan the picture from the student's registration file.
I am not a programmer, but I reckon it shouldn't be very hard to do in Moodle, since the user already has the possibility to add a picture.

All the best,
Adrian
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Adrian Dusa

Student's picture on the screen during quiz

by Jan Dierckx -
Oops ... I thought this one would be relatively easy to add to the quiz module, as the Quiz module already allows blocks to be displayed. Unfortunately I discovered that the Quiz page allows blocks to be displayed only before attempting the quiz. (see screenshot)
As such my block is not very useful. You could try adding
print_user_picture($user->id, $course->id, $user->picture, true, false, false);
somewhere in the footer of your theme.

It seems the code to display blocks on every page has not yet been added to the attempt.php file. Will it be added later on?

Are you sure posting user pictures is really a solution for students switching identities? You would need to disable students uploading their own pictures / make sure that students can't change the browser's cache / etc.... Is it worth it?
Attachment guesswho.jpg
In reply to Jan Dierckx

Re: Student's picture on the screen during quiz

by Adrian Dusa -
Hello all (again),

I got another idea last night (they usually come that way) so that students can do nothing to cheat: