Best Moodle hosting company

Best Moodle hosting company

by Sizwe Dumisani -
Number of replies: 36

Greetings

I'm new to Moodle and online course development. I'll be creating online IT Training courses shortly and would like to get a feel for which of the many Moodle hosting companies are in the top 3. I see references to HostGator and BlueHost. What is the general consensus of the best (few bugs, & good integration with Moodle) Moodle hosting company?

sdumisani@gmail.com

Thanks

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Sizwe Dumisani

Re: Best Moodle hosting company

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers
If you are looking for dedicated Moodle hosting, you should have a look at the official Moodle partners in your area on http://www.moodle.com
(Obviously I'd recommend my own employers at Synergy Learning!).

Moodle partners may work out a bit more expensive than generic hosting, but you will benefit from specific Moodle expertise and also help to  fund the ongoing development of Moodle.
In reply to Davo Smith

by Doug Moody -

http://moonami.com

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Doug Moody

by Alan Kmiecik -

I too am looking for a good discussion on Moodle hosting companies.  I am looking for pure hosting not a shared Moodle system (i.e. Moodlerooms).

Moonami is expensive and has user limitations

Hostgator has developed serious performance and up-time issues over the past few months.  And has limits on number of files on the server (eg too many files = no backup

Bluehost is connected with Hostmonster and Hostmonster is an awesome hosting company (specifically customer service) but has a limitation on number of tables so, two (maybe three) Moodle instances ends up being the limit (that is for the$8/month package).

Has anybody found a hosting company that knows Moodle and is willing to help tweek for performance?

The Moodle Partner page has nothing