Themes

Julian Ridden
Essential theme - 2.5.2 released
Group DevelopersGroup Moodle Course Creator Certificate holdersGroup Particularly helpful MoodlersGroup Translators

WOW! Talk about about a flurry of requests. Since "Essential" was released my inbox and this forum have lit up like a Christmas tree. Members of the community have been helping bug squash and many of you are asking for new features and design changes.

As a theme designer I cannot keep you all happy. Nor can I add every feature for every users whim. But features that are being asked for by many in the community I will try to introduce. This release has just a few.

New features:

New Options

First is a great new feature contributed by Paul Vaughan. It enables the ability to display the users Profile image in the header next to the social networking icons. A heat idea and now implemented.

Second is one that I swore I would not do. But as the pressure from the community was high I have caved in. I personally am not a fan of blocks on each side of the page with content in the middle. As Westerners we read from top right to bottom left. This means the first block becomes the oat important feature. I prefer the content to be the first thing the users eye is drawn to. But if you are a sucker for the old "traditional" layout you can now set this in the theme settings. I thought it at best a good compromise. smile 

And third was an idea started by David Scotson. A question was put in the forums about changing the separator in the navbar. This is something many like to do. David, in his answer, suggested the use of the icons from Font Awesome. I thought this was an awesome solution and using it have now made this a theme setting.

Latest version is now in GitHub and the plugins database. Download and enjoy!