Security and privacy

Picture of Adrian Scarle
iptables firewall stops email messages to SMTP host

I've set up a self-contained Moodle system on a Debian LAMP machine.

I have outgoing email messages set up to be sent via a SMTP host (a receive connector on our MS Exchange server).

This works fine... until I try to set up a simple iptables setup to block all incoming traffic except ports 22, 80 and 443.

My iptables config (produced with iptables -L) looks like the attached screenshot.

This successfully allows access to the site (and SSH) but stops the sending of email. If I remove the DROP rule from the INPUT chain, it all starts working again. As far as I can tell, the rules should allow all outgoing traffic. Does sending via a SMTP host require additional INPUT ports to be allowed?

I've tried turning on logging and inspected the blocked traffic, but can't see any obvious reason for the issue. I'll be honest and say that I am fairly new to Linux and iptables, and googling didn't suggest anything helpful.

I'm not overly concerned as the box is NAT'd behind a dedicated firewall, but I was hoping to make it a little more protected by setting up iptables.

Any suggestions? Thanks!

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Hubert Chathi
Re: iptables firewall stops email messages to SMTP host

This belongs in an iptables forum rather than a Moodle forum, but...

iptables operates on packets rather than on connections.  When you make an SMTP connection (or any other type of connection), packets flow in both directions, so you need to make sure that you allow packet flow in both directions.  You are allowing outgoing connections to the SMTP server by having an ACCEPT policy on your OUTPUT table, and not having any rules, but when the SMTP server replies, it hits the INPUT chain, sees that the packet isn't heading to the SSH, HTTP, or HTTPS port, so it gets dropped.