Moodle 2.5: Installation error moodle/user/editadvanced.php?id=2

Moodle 2.5: Installation error moodle/user/editadvanced.php?id=2

by Rashid Brown Shomari -
Number of replies: 2

Hello all;

I have a pretty strong .NET developper background, and this is my first time to try something else (php, mysql,...)

I have installed and configured Moodle 2.5 + PHP 5.4 + MYSQL 5.6 + IIS 7 on Win7

I keep on getting the following error message during the final installation steps (version 2.5), the page in browser is:../moodle/user/editadvanced.php?id=2

And the message displayed on the page is: 

Default exception handler: Sorry, but you do not currently have permissions to do that (Update user profiles) Debug: 
Error code: nopermissions
* line 730 of \lib\accesslib.php: required_capability_exception thrown
* line 69 of \user\editadvanced.php: call to require_capability()

Has anyone come accross this? I have a valid db user with all rights granted in mysql moodle database.

Your help will be much appreciated. I have checked the code files (accesslib.php and editadvanced.php) and it seems id=2 (admin) does not have some sort of persmission.

Thank you.
Zinczinc
Average of ratings: -
In reply to Rashid Brown Shomari

Re: Moodle 2.5: Installation error moodle/user/editadvanced.php?id=2

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

My guess would be that some part of the installation has failed and the permissions structure is not set up properly. 

What I would do is to start again (drop the database) - this time, create config.php by copying config-dist.php, edit is 'manually' and look for the lines that force debugging on. Enable debugging and run the install again. 

Watch out for errors and also check your web server logs. 

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Howard Miller