Sending SMS when an important event occurs

Sending SMS when an important event occurs

by Manuri Perera -
Number of replies: 5

Hello,

I'm new to Moodle. I have a project to create a plugin for Moodle to send SMS to students who subscribe for this service,

1. when a new resource is added to a course

2. At the commencement of a quiz

3. Number of hours defined by the student before an assignment deadline

4. When a new post is posted in a subscribed forum

As I understand I have to develop a block type plugin. And I read about cron method and I think it will be useful. But first what I had in mind was event handling. That is, defining events and developing event handlers so when an event occurs it's event handler will be executed and SMS will be sent. Still haven't found out whether this is possible or suitable though.

I installed Moodle and now figuring out what are the tables I will need.

Any idea on where to begin ? I have to complete this very soon and any help would be highly appreciated. smile

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Manuri Perera

Re: Sending SMS when an important event occurs

by Tim Hunt -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

Actually, you need to write a message output plugin http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Messaging_consumers that sends SMS messages. Then tie into Moodle's messaging API to configure things: http://docs.moodle.org/dev/Messaging_2.0

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Tim Hunt

by Manuri Perera -

Thank you for the reply.

Sir could you please tell me if my approach is correct ?

This is the simple picture I have in mind after reading about Moodle a bit.

I have a cron() method inside my block.

Inside that cron() method of my block,

I write the code to check the moodle database for new assignment deadlines, new quizzes, new resource updates, new forums posts 

and