Backup and restore

Picture of Amin Hannini
Restoring Multiple Courses Simultaneously (multi-semester issue)

Hello, this is my first time posting.

So basically, the site I'm running has several hundred courses offered, and we want to offer the exact same courses for several semesters to come.  The way I've tried to tackle this is have semesters as categories, majors as sub-categories, and courses within those.

From what I can tell, the only way to do this is to essentially make a copy of the courses without user data (through backup/restore) and change the date (probably by running an SQL query, unless there's some other method).  There seems to be a batch backup method, but no batch restore, however.

My question is: is there any way to do a mass restore of courses?  Or is there perhaps an easier way to address the whole issue of multiple semesters?  I know these are two different questions, but I'm not really sure how to approach this. I should think I'm not the first to encounter an issue like this, but a forum search hasn't yielded anything that really helps me (maybe I've used the wrong search terms...).

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this.  Moodle is an awesome tool, and I've love to be able to take advantage of its full potential someday.  

Best regards,

Amin

Average of ratings: -
Picture of Emma Richardson
Re: Restoring Multiple Courses Simultaneously (multi-semester issue)
Group Particularly helpful Moodlers

I would love this capability too!!  Haven't found a way to do it yet..

Tim at Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary
Group DevelopersGroup Documentation writersGroup Particularly helpful Moodlers

How would admins control this? What I mean is, I don't see what the user-interface for doing this would look like.