Contributing to Moodle for MSc project

Contributing to Moodle for MSc project

by Peter McArthur -
Number of replies: 19

I'd like to introduce myself, and announce my interest in contributing to Moodle for my MSc final project.

I'm an English as a Foreign Language teacher by profession, and a computer nerd by inclination. I'm bringing these strands together by studying part-time for an MSc in e-Learning Technology.

My final project starts soon and, if it's feasible, I'm very interested in taking this opportunity to add something Moodle.

Anything I do will have to be grounded in pedagogical theory / research. Tim Hunt's idea for a self-assessment activity[1] looks very interesting, because even an unambitious implementation might be of some value, and could open the door to all kinds of pedagogically interesting future extensions.

I've looked at the list of suggested projects for new developers, but I'd be very interested to hear about other suggestions. And I'd be especially interested to talk to anyone who could spare the time to mentor me through the implementation stage of my project.

By the way, work and family obligations mean I'm ineligible for the Google Summer of Code.

----

If I post a URL, my message gets blocked as spam, but I hope you can make sense of this:

[1] tjhunt DOT blogspot DOT jp/2011/09/what-i-want-to-build-next.html

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Peter McArthur

Re: Contributing to Moodle for MSc project

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hello and welcomesmile You probably tried to add a link which is why your post was marked as spam but you should be fine in future. I don't have any specific suggestions to make (will leave that to the developers) but as an MFL teacher by qualification and wannabe computer geek by hobby I shall be interested to follow your progress, and particularly on the pedagogical side.