help with xampp/Git/local host install

help with xampp/Git/local host install

by Mary Cooch -
Number of replies: 20
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

Hi there. I have  new Windows 8 laptop (don't ask) and  I am trying to get moodle on it . Previously on Win 7 I used a wamp server and Git successfully so I do know  how to do it.  However, I couldnt get Wamp servr to work with Win 8 so I thought I would try with Xampp which I have never used before. Xampp appears to work (well the Apache and Mysql are green anyway) and I made a database, downloaded Moodle, but when I type in localhost/moodle I get "object not found". I tried going straight to the instal.php file in my moodle folder but when I put that into the browser I got the install file as a text version. I am obviously missing something related to connecting the Xampp server to Moodle but I haven't a clue what and would be grateful for any help (And before  I get any snide comments, the plan is to have a Ubuntu local host Moodle sometime soon!)

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Mary Cooch

Re: help with xampp/Git/local host install

by Howard Miller -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

You mean me, don't you? big grin

If it was me... I would probably try installing it from individual components (like my insane docs for Windows 7) but, failing that, I suspect that Virtual Box, Ubuntu, done would be a hell of a lot quicker.

In reply to Howard Miller

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators