Adding TinyMCE media types and buttons into Moodle

Adding TinyMCE media types and buttons into Moodle

Rodney Wolford -
Number of replies: 10

Hello,

I'm still a newbie, just six months into Moodle, and some of it really vexes me.

Take the TinyMCE editor, for example. Here is the demo link from the TinyMCE site http://www.tinymce.com/tryit/full.php .

Click on the media button in the demo and a full set of additional media types are available, including Shockwave (.dcr), something I am using in almost all my lessons. Select that media option and a drag and drop box is available for it, just like that. Right now, I have to hand code it all in html, including cab files, and there is no easy way to flow text around the Shockwave media.

I have tried reading the instructions in Moodle and in TinyMCE that seem to suggest I can add these other buttons and elements, but I'll be darned if I can figure out how. Here are two links, one from Moodle and one from TinyMCE that talk about this:  http://docs.moodle.org/dev/TinyMCE_plugins and http://www.tinymce.com/wiki.php/Plugin:media

Can someone give me a hand with this? I'm sure it would help other newbies as well. Thanks in advance for any help.

Regards,

Rod Wolford

Վարկանիշների միջին թիվը. -
In reply to Rodney Wolford

Re: Adding TinyMCE media types and buttons into Moodle

Mary Cooch -
Documentation writers Նկարը Moodle HQ Նկարը Particularly helpful Moodlers Նկարը Testers Նկարը Translators Նկարը

Hi there. Does this help, in the documentation  - section 3.3 onwards Text editor ?

In reply to Mary Cooch

Rodney Wolford -

Hi Mary,

I have looked at that administrator's configuration area in Moodle TinyMCE. But I have never figured out what is copied from the TinyMCE site into that area to enable the option for Shockwave.