Finally - A working File Manager example!

Finally - A working File Manager example!

by Andrew Normore -
Number of replies: 26

Howdy community. I am pleased to present my first open source contribution! 

What it Does: 3 files to demonstrate clearly how to use a Moodle drag-and-drop file manager. This will demonstrate how to use this compent easily, and is NOOB FRIENDLY smile

Why? As a new Moodle developer, I found it incredibly difficult to understand file managers. I've stuggled for 2 months figuring this out.

Download it: https://github.com/AndyNormore/filemanager

Try It / Install: Just unrar this to your /local directory. (full path is /local/filemanager/index.php). No database changes are necessary.

SCREEN SHOTS

Managing a File

Viewing uploaded files

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Andrew Normore

Re: Finally - A working File Manager example!

by Derek Chirnside -

Hmm.

Interesting, Andrew.

Is it on the net where I can look at it?

At the risk of starting feature creep with your first project here, does it do bulk operation like delete?

Can it do bulk file upload?

Does it have a progress indicator for file upload?

Does it have a display where you can sort by size, date, name?

Does it have a display where I can see file size?

Just curious.  These are some things on my wish list.

-Derek

In reply to Derek Chirnside

by Matt Bury -
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Derek,

I think the future of file management in Moodle 2.x is with external 3rd party repositories. If you want to do anything more than upload and display multimedia files, e.g. SMIL, MPEG-7, backup and restore, or exporting activities with dependent media files, Moodle's file API is inappropriate.

It's an extra layer of admin and management but it's infinitely better than trying to do it with Moodle.

In reply to Matt Bury

by Derek Chirnside -

I'm sure you are right in this respect Matt, and it probably reflects the views of MoodleHQ plus MP.