course restore failed from 1.9.12 to 2.4.1+

course restore failed from 1.9.12 to 2.4.1+

by Yatim Ghani -
Number of replies: 7

i am a complete newbie in Moodle and i have being tasked with upgrading my school moodle from 1.9.12 to 2.4.1+ and hence i am playing around with Moodle now.

i have managed to setup a Windows Server 2008 machine running IIS 7.5, PHP 5.4, MySQL and Moodle 2.4.1+ for my testing purposes.

All were going well until i tried to restore a single course in 2.4.1+ using a backup from 1.9.12, my moodle keep giving me the error below :

error/failed_move_converted_into_place

Any help from the gurus in here will be greatly appreciated and how do i dig deeper like seeing the debugging logs for this error above ?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Yatim Ghani

Re: course restore failed from 1.9.12 to 2.4.1+

by Ken Task -
Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers

Am a linux person myself, but the process should be the same.

The restore process uses /moodledata/temp/backup/ as it's rebuilding area.  When it sees a .zip it assumes a backup that is not compat with the new system and attempts to unzip, then rebuild the backup into a version 2 ... a .mbz.  Then it restores.

Check the /moodledata/temp/backup/ folder for directories with long names - bunch of letters/numbers (name is taken from generated contenthash).  See any residual files (.xml, folders, and/or .mbz file?

The failed_move_converted_into_place have never see before, but sounds like the conversion process completes, but then cannot move files/folders to another for further processing.  Check IIS setting/permissions/ability to move files.

'spirit of sharing', Ken

In reply to Ken Task

by Yatim Ghani -

i kept seeing this error message below generated as a text file inside my C:\inetpub\wwwroot\Moodle\moodledata\temp\backup

[warn] (moodle1) no handler attached /MOODLE_BACKUP/COURSE/BLOCKS/BLOCK/ADMIN