What's your background?

What's your background?

by Christian Herman -
Number of replies: 14

In trying to prove a point I recently argued that Moodle is not typically administered by IT professionals but instead by training and instructional design professionals who, like me, out of necessity or interest, have learned CSS and PHP with varying degrees of mastery.  Then I realized I have nothing but my own assumptions and extrapolations from these forums to back that up.

Am I correct in my assumption?  Do you hold an IT degree or instructional design/education degree?  Both?  What is your background?

Average of ratings: -
In reply to Christian Herman

Re: What's your background?

by Matt Bury -
Picture of Plugin developers

Hi Christian,

I was a teacher and then a curriculum developer before I learned how to use an LMS and how to code.

Have you thought of doing a more structured online survey? Could be interesting smile

In reply to Matt Bury

by Mary Cooch -
Picture of Documentation writers Picture of Moodle HQ Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Testers Picture of Translators

I have a 30 year old degree in French from UCL and have been a languages teacher all my career (until now) I got into Moodle as a hobby and I still can't code, although I can recognise bits of it and copy and paste other people's.

In reply to Mary Cooch

by Glenys Hanson -

Hi there,

I'm a feeble copy of Mary Cooch, also a language teacher who's learnt a bit of HTML/XHTML5, a bit of JavaScript but who really relies heavily on those who really know their stuff like Martin Holmes, Gordon Bateson, Stan Bogdanov, Itamar Tzadok and a host of others. Like Mary, I do a lot of copying and pasting of other people's code. I try always to acknowledge it.

If I can do it, you can too. wink

Cheers,

Glenys

by Frankie Kam -

$assumption->SPOT_ON

In reply to Frankie Kam

by Matt Bury -