Own mod_form.php

Own mod_form.php

by Silvan Voser -
Number of replies: 4

Hi everybody,

I need to create an own edit page for an activity. So if I click in the course on "Update", I get to this page.

I am new to moodle and it would be great if you can give me some hints, documentation or advices how I can implements my functions in the best way. Of course I don't expect a full solution wink.

These are my questions:

• How can I define own / new functions, not listed here? http://docs.moodle.org/dev/lib/formslib.php_Form_Definition. For example I can make $mform->add_myown_customized_editor();
  • If I save the formular, to where will the information from the fields go? (Later I need to process the values there and put them into MySQL database)
  • I need to check the values in the input fields, how can I check them with a moodle function?
  • How can I get values from the MySQL database for already existing exercises? For example I have a textarea with text. If I would like to change the text now, I need somehow to get the existing text from the MySQL database

Thanks for your help and regards,

power08

Average of ratings: Useful (1)
In reply to Silvan Voser

Re: Own mod_form.php

by Davo Smith -
Picture of Core developers Picture of Particularly helpful Moodlers Picture of Peer reviewers Picture of Plugin developers

If you are wanting to create your own settings form, then take a look at the file mod_form.php in any of the existing Moodle activities (mod/page/mod_form.php is a fairly straightforward example).

Validation of input can be done via a 'validation()' function in the form (search for examples) or can be handled via 'addRule' calls in the form definition (again, search for examples)

The data is returned to your activity via the ACTIVITYNAME_add_instance and ACTIVITYNAME_update_instance functions in your activity's lib.php. e.g. mod/page/lib.php: page_add_instance() and page_update_instance().